College of Nursing

Featured Article 

College of Nursing honors 2016 Hall of Fame inductees

April 18, 2016

The East Carolina University College of Nursing inducted 11 members to its Hall of Fame during a ceremony held at the Hilton Hotel Greenville on Friday, April 15. The event, which also recognized the college's 2016 Distinguished Alumnus, honored outstanding contributors to nursing in the areas of education, administration, research and practice.

ECU Nursing Hall of Fame 2016 Awardees
The 2016 Hall of Fame inductees:
From left: Sandra Smith, Sue Edwards, Wendy Leutgens, Jane Pearson,
Donna Lake, Janice Neil, Annette Peery, Mary Chatman, and Gina Woody,
with CON Dean Sylvia Brown

This year's class includes inductees from a range of impressive backgrounds, including two nurses who serve as leaders of major health systems; two who led accomplished, decades-long careers in the U.S. Military before pursuing inspired careers in health care and education; and several esteemed College of Nursing faculty members.

Not only does the Hall of Fame honor prominent nursing professionals, it has raised approximately $95,000 for a merit-based student scholarship fund since its inception in 2011. The 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Scholarship recipient, Tyler Knowles of Conover, North Carolina and a master's student in the nurse anesthetist program, was recognized at the event. The college will award its sixth Hall of Fame Scholarship this fall.

  "We created the Hall of Fame when we realized there were so many respected leaders who were graduates or supporters of our college and who have been leaders in our profession," said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the College of Nursing. "It's an opportunity to honor their contributions and also a way to give back to future generations of nurses through the scholarship program."


The 2016 inductees join a list of 79 Hall of Fame members representing nine states. Each new member receives a flame-shaped award that resembles the lamp illustrated on the college's nursing pin. The lamp and its associated flame symbolize a commitment to service and a vibrant life. This year's Hall of Fame class:

  • Mary Chatman, Savannah, GA
  • Sue Edwards, Ayden, NC
  • Ann King, Clayton, NC
  • Donna Lake, Goldsboro, NC
  • Wendy Leutgens, Oak Park, IL
  • Janice Neil, Winterville, NC
  • Jane Pearson, Forest, VA
  • Annette Peery, Greenville, NC
  • Loretta Ritter, Milford, PA
  • Sandra Smith, Williamsburg, VA
  • Gina Woody, Winterville, NC

On a night set aside for celebrating influential nurse leaders, the college also recognized the recipient of its 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award. This year's awardee is Wendy Leutgens (MSN 87), who serves as the president of Loyola University Health System, an 801-bed academic medical center and health system in Maywood, Illinois.

Learn more about the College of Nursing's Hall of Fame and Distinguished Alumnus Award by visiting