Contact us at:
Institute for Coastal Science
   and Policy
Flanagan Building, Suite 250
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858-4353
Hochard Receives Award

Jake Hochard received the 2018 Coastal-Maritime Council Coastal Scholar Award. The CMC is a forum for discussing internal and external issues and actions that are important to coastal and maritime interests campus-wide and at affiliated institutions. In accordance with its goal of encouraging research from non-tenured tenure-track faculty, the CMC recognizes outstanding scholarship contributing to our knowledge, understanding and improvement of physical, biological, and human systems of the coastal environment. Pictured here with Chancellor Staton. Photo by Cliff Hollis, ECU News.

Asch Receives Sloan Research Fellowship
Rebecca Asch received the prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship, recognizing her as one of the top early-career researchers in the United States and Canada. The fellowships have been awarded annually since 1955 and include 45 Nobel Prize winners. Dr. Asch's research focuses on the effects of climate change and climate variability on marine ecosystems. The ECU press release can be found here.

Humphrey and O'Driscoll Water Quality Project

Charlie Humphrey and Michael O'Driscoll, along with CRM students,Guy Iverson and Caitlin Skiebel, were featured in an ECU news release about their work restoring the Lick Creek watershed near Durham. 


Corbett Awarded Fulbright Research Scholarship

Reide Corbett will spend January through August, 2018, in France, based at the Université de Lille, Laboratoire d'Océanologie et de Géosciences. He will interact with French colleagues at their home institution in Lille, as well as the coastal institute in Wimereux. The goal of the proposed Fulbright research is to examine the exchange of sediments across the land-sea and benthic-pelagic boundaries in the Canche Estuary.


Hathaway Honored by National Marine Educators Association

The National Marine Educators Association presented Terri Kirby Hathaway with its highest recognition: the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award, presented at the NMEA 2017 national conference. To be eligible, the recipient must have demonstrated a distinguished career in teaching, research or service in marine education. 


Hochard Wins Publication Award

Jacob Hochard, along with co-authors Edward B. Barbier and Ramón E. López, won the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (EAERE) "Award for Outstanding Publication in Environmental Resource Economics" for their 2016 publication, "Debt, Poverty and Resource Management in a Rural Smallholder Economy"; Environmental and Resource Economics (2016) Vol. 63, Iss. 2, pp 411–427, DOI: 10.1007/s10640-015-9890-4

Walsh Receives Fulbright Research Scholarship
J.P. Walsh will be based at the Universite de Bordeaux in France for eight months in 2017 as a Fulbright Scholar. One product of his work is a webinar series focused on geological research around the Atlantic Ocean and featuring scientists from around the world.


Manda and Grace-McCaskey Awarded NSF Grant

Alex Manda and Cindy Grace-McCaskey, along with Randall Etheridge, received a National Science Foundation grant, "EAGER Investigating drivers of stormwater flooding in coastal communities." 

Hochard Receives EPA Grant

Jacob Hochard is principle investigator for an Environmental Protection Agency "Science To Achieve Results" (STAR) grant. The project is titled, "Integrating Human Health and Well-Being with Ecosystem Services: Risks from Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) with Defensive Natural Capital Investments." 


Corbett and Walsh Receive Funding

The dynamic duo of J.P. Walsh and Reide Corbett received four research grants. The NC Department of Transportation provided funds for "Submerged Aquatic Vegetation Evaluation in Currituck Sound" and the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management funded a study on "Sedimentary Petrology and Geological Framework Investigations in the Southeastern U.S. Outer Continental Shelf." The two joined forces with David Mallinson and received funding for another BOEM grant, "Assessing offshore sand resources for North Carolina: Phase 2," and a grant from the NC Division of Coastal Management for "Sand Resource Data Assessment for Coastal State Waters of North Carolina."

Manda Receives Coastal Research Award

Alex Manda was the recipient of the Coastal-Maritime Council Coastal Research Award. 

Griffith Named Distinguished Professor
Dr. David Griffith was inducted to the ranks of Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professors. For a complete article, see 

Roger Rulifson
Congratulations Roger Rulifson

Congratulations to Roger Rulifson, who served 20 years on the Partnership for the Sounds Board of Directors. Learn more about the Partnership here.

Roger Rulifson
Roger Rulifson Lab
Read about some of the research from Roger Rulifson’s lab, which has been in existence for over 30 years! Link to article here.

Dave Kimmel
Dave Kimmel
Read about Dave Kimmel’s research linking oyster abundance and climate variability. Article here.

Chuck Bagley with Shark
Chuck Bangley
Chuck Bangley, CRM student, has two articles in the current issue of Coastwatch, the publication of N.C. Sea Grant. Read them here.

Dave Kimmel
Dave Kimmel Award Winner
Dave Kimmel is the recipient of ECU’s FiveYear Achievement Award for Excellence in Research and Creative Activity. His presentation will be March 6, 4:00pm at the East Carolina Heart Institute Auditorium.

Reide Penguin
Reide Corbett Research Team
Follow the recent adventures, including spectacular photos of the research team led by Reide Corbett here from the Antarctic Continent. His team is already there and he will join them on Feb. 10. They will blog through March.